BSC Debate Club sponsors grand debate on the division of Bukidnon

MALAYBALAY CITY, BUKIDNON – The Bukidnon State College Debate Club recently sponsored the grand debate with the motion “This house supports the division of Bukidnon.”

The debaters followed the British Parliamentary Debate format. On the opening government side, debaters were Dawn Roque and Darrel Catane from School of Arts and Sciences (SAS). On the closing government, debaters were Kristine Ann Cruz from SAS and Jacky Lou Cellan from the School of Community Education and Industrial Technology (SCEIT).

On the opening opposition, debaters were Cristine Garcia and Gretchen Vasaya from Secondary Education (SED). And for closing opposition, debaters were Paul Patrick Padua and Eric Melendez from SED.

Cellan was declared as Best Speaker. The board of judges declared the closing government side as the winning team.  Both pros and cons cited reasons why there is a need or there is no need for the division of Bukidnon.

First District Congress-man Juan Romero Nerius Acosta was the special guest. Acosta acclaimed BSC to sponsor the first ever-public debate of the division of Bukidnon issue. The congressman said that the power of argument depends on the people.

“Both proposal and opposition must be heard. This has not been done to Bukidnon Sur bill. The people of Kalilangan and Pangantucan do not know what’s going on and perhaps only the ally of Third District Congressman Juan Miguel Zubiri and Governor Jose Ma. R. Zubiri, Jr knows. There was no public hearing held in Bukidnon about the bill when the house committee passed it,” Acosta told.

Cong. Zubiri passed the house bill creating the province of Bukidnon Del Sur. Reportedly, Bukidnon del Sur passed all the requirements for the creation as a new province. The new province will be composed of the munici-palities of Maramag, Don Carlos, Quezon, Kitaotao, Dangcagan, Kibawe, Da-mulog, Kadingilan, Kalila-ngan and Pangantucan.

Kalilangan and Pangantucan are extracted from the congressional district of Acosta. Elected officials from the barangay to the municipal level in southern Bukidnon had chosen Don Carlos as the center of governance or capital town.

The mother Bukidnon province will composed of the municipalities of Malitbog, Talakag, Baungon, Libona, Manolo Fortich, Sumilao, Impasug-ong, Lantapan, San Fernando, Cabanglasan, and the cities of Malaybalay and Valencia. 

Acosta also sponsored a bill creating Bukidnon Occidental and Bukidnon Oriental but congress junked the bill. 

Governor Zubiri supported the creation of Bukidnon Del Sur. The governor also said that the mother Bukidnon province will received more than P600Million Internal revenue Allotment (IRA) and the newly created Bukidnon Sur province will received more than 400Million IRA. Recently the senate committee hears the bill in Cagayan De Oro City and sooner the committee will pass a report to the Senate.


2 Responses to BSC Debate Club sponsors grand debate on the division of Bukidnon

  1. norman bayo says:

    what i can only say is ” divided we fall , together we stand ‘ theres no need to divide bukidnon . A good leader can managed the whole place without corruption.. dividing bukidnon is a personal interest of politician .. kalouy sa mga nitibo igsoon na ko gihimong puhunan sa hakog ug katungdanan..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: